Home

Sanjida Kay

Author of One Year Later

Some secrets won’t stay buried …

Since Amy’s daughter, Ruby-May, died in a terrible accident, her family have been beset by grief. One year later the family decide to go on holiday to mend their wounds. An idyllic island in Italy seems the perfect place for them to heal and repair their relationships with one another.

But no sooner have they arrived, than they discover nothing on this remote island is quite as it seems. And with the anniversary of the little girl’s death looming, it becomes clear that at least one person in the family is hiding a shocking secret. As things start to go rapidly wrong, Amy begins to question whether everyone will make it home …

Available now to buy:

Bone by Bone The Stolen Child My Mother’s Secret One Year Later

Buy all from Amazon

You can help stop bullying by buying a copy of Bone by Bone; I make a donation for every copy sold to anti-bullying charity, Kidscape

Blog

The Priest and the Lily

The Priest and the Lily

  I'm really excited to announce that my novel, The Priest and the Lily, will be published soon as an ebook, and then in paperback. This is an epic, historical tale, for fans of Charles Frazier's Cold Mountain, and Cormac McCarthy's All the Pretty Horses. Set in 1865, it's about Joseph, a young Jesuit priest and plant-hunter, who sets out on a dangerous journey through Outer Mongolia, a land virtually unknown to the Western world. Charles Darwin’s radical theory of evolution has just been published, and Joseph is driven by his passion for science and his love of God. As he…read more →
One Year Later – Italy

One Year Later – Italy

I’ve always loved Italy, so when I needed a seemingly idyllic holiday for my family in One Year Later, my current psychological thriller, it made sense to choose Italy. I’ve certainly enjoyed remembering the delicious Italian food I’ve eaten on all those trips, the sandy beaches and the slower pace of life…but as the Flower family discover, their remote idyll is a lot more dangerous than it seemed at first… ‘From the air, when I checked on Google Earth before we came, the island is shaped like an embryo, curled around the scoop of an inlet, its backbone a reptilian…read more →
One Year Later – Dante

One Year Later – Dante

I did not die and yet I lost life’s breath… I always like to have a theme or a leitmotif running through my novels and in this one, One Year Later, it’s Dante’s The Divine Comedy. There’s the obvious aspects - it’s set in Italy, it’s hot as hell, but it’s about a young man’s journey through nine circles of hell; it’s about salvation and redemption, as one lovely, astute reviewer pointed out. Above all, when one is grieving, it really can feel that you are alive, but you have lost life’s breath and found yourself within ‘a forest dark’.read more →
Happy new year!

Happy new year!

  Happy New Year! The snowdrops are out in the garden, looking lovely. Thinking about this year - I'd really appreciate your feedback on what you would like to hear more about. I'm working on a couple of exciting book projects - more on them soon - but in the meantime, what would  you like to hear more of? Please could you complete this short survey (takes 2 minutes, promise!). Everyone who completes the  survey  will be eligible to WIN one of my thrillers of their choice. A winner will be chosen at random on MARCH 1st.    read more →

SaveSave

SaveSave